March 31, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

The mobile version of Fortnite Battle Royale now features a loading screen that tells kids to not play the game during class. Epic Games community manager K.L. Smith shared an image of the new loading screen, which now includes the message: “Mr. Hillman says stop playing in class,” in a post on Twitter. Fortnite loading screen, via TwitterContinue reading…Powered by WPeMatico

March 31, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Pokemon Go is celebrating April Fool’s Day by switching to 8-bit graphics, which players can experience in the game starting today. “Experience Pokemon Go like never before with cutting-edge 8-bit graphics!” an announcement post on the game’s official website humorously reads. “Registering approximately twice the definition of 4K, the chunky squares of each pixel provide realistic detail and unbelievable definition.” Check out the slideshow below for a look at the 8-bit aesthetic: Pokemon Go’s 8-bit style isn’t the only recent addition to Niantic Labs’ augmented reality mobile game. Earlier this week, the mythical Pokemon Mew was added to the game through…

March 31, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

What would happen if you mixed the fast-paced futuristic racing of F-Zero with the colorful co-operative play of Splatoon 2? Well, you’d probably end up with a game that’s remarkably close to Trailblazers, a new racer that aims to combine a unique track-painting mechanic with a critical focus on strategic team-based racing. Sounds pretty compelling right? Trailblazers is a passion project that stems from indie developer SuperGonk Games, which has an exceptional amount of talent on its side, ranging from the now-defunct studio Lionhead (Fable) as well as Codemasters and Bizarre Creations. Codemasters has rapidly become one of the most…

March 31, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

EA’s public perception might be worse than ever. 2017 saw the company publicly criticized for Star Wars: Battlefront 2’s perceived pay-to-win multiplayer, Mass Effect: Andromeda’s quality issues at launch, and the sudden closure of Visceral Games. People saying they won’t buy another EA game aren’t uncommon, and while I generally agree that ‘vote with your wallet’ is a good practice, the people hurt the most by that when it comes to EA Originals (like Fe and A Way Out) are the independent developers making those games, not EA. Continue reading…Powered by WPeMatico

March 31, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Nintendo has unveiled the lineup of titles that will be playable for Switch at PAX East this year. As announced in a post on Nintendo’s official website, this will be the first time a number of titles—including Dark Souls Remastered, Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus, Travis Strikes Again: No More Heroes, and Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy—will be playable by the public on Nintendo Switch. Here’s the full list of Switch games that will be playable at Nintendo’s booth: Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze Hyrule Warriors: Definitive Edition Continue reading…Powered by WPeMatico

March 31, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

It’s been almost exactly a year since we last checked in with PC Building Simulator. A productive year, it seems. What was once an extremely rough “pre-alpha build” on itch.io is now a more polished $20 Early Access production on Steam. Yes, you can buy it and start assembling your own dream PCs right now, complete with dozens of licensed parts. There’s even the skeleton of a career mode.And I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself, but I think PC Building Simulator might be one of the most important enthusiast tools since the advent of PCPartPicker. It’s…

March 30, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Testing for PlayerUnknown’s Battleground’s upcoming map Codename: Savage will open in just a few days. As detailed in an announcement post on Steam, the first testing window for the 4x4km island map will open on April 2 at 7pm PT/10pm ET (April 3 at 3am UK/1pm AET) and conclude on April 5 at 4am PT/7am ET/12pm UK/10pm AET. This first test will be “more limited” since “it’s a super early build” of the map, but the studio promises the next test will be larger. Details on how players can participate will be provided on Monday. PUBG director Brendan Greene offered a sneak…

March 30, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Weeelcooome to episode 400 of our weekly Nintendo show and podcast, Nintendo Voice Chat. This week, Miranda Sanchez joins the NVC crew to chat about her review for Detective Pikachu and shares her thoughts on why she thinks it’s a great game. Later, the gang discusses the many growing concerns with using third-party Nintendo Switch docks, the closing of the Wii Ship Channel, a possible return for Wario Land, Crazy Justice, and more! As always, you can watch NVC here on IGN and on our YouTube channel (subscribe and hit that bell! It gives fairies wings!) or listen to it on…