January 3, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Windows 10’s Groove Music app may have lost its companion Groove Music Pass service, but it still has a reason to live: so it can take care of your MP3 files. As cloud services turn away from persistent music storage in favor of streaming, you may need it more than ever.Microsoft officially killed its Groove Music Pass service as the ball dropped on December 31, shifting users over to Spotify. It’s a recognition that streaming services are the future, and that customers just don’t want to buy songs or albums. To read this article in full, please click herePowered by WPeMatico

January 3, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Microsoft has confirmed to Polygon that it has ended production of the Kinect Adapter – the USB accessory required to connect the motion sensor to the Xbox One S, Xbox One X, and Windows devices – stating that it is refocusing attention on “higher fan-requested gaming accessories”. Back in October 2017, Microsoft announced it had ended production of the core Kinect accessory. At the time, Microsoft stated it would continue to support Kinect users but it would appear that support is also beginning to wind down. Continue reading…Powered by WPeMatico

January 2, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Don’t get your hopes up: this Star Wars space shooter is never going to exist. So says Travis Baldree, co-founder of Double Damage (and of his previous studio, Torchlight developer Runic Games). This five-minute demonstration was “cobbled together” in 2016 from bits of other Star Wars games and Double Damage’s own Rebel Galaxy (read the review) to show EA what a potential game might look like, with some flashy results. Unfortunately, the project wasn’t approved for development – which means it doesn’t qualify for any future list of “canceled Star Wars games.” While it appears far less complex as the…

January 2, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Blizzard has teased new content for Overwatch in 2018 including a new event, characters, and the release of a new map. In a developer update video, game director Jeff Kaplan talks about what the Overwatch team has planned for the game in this new year. Kaplan confirmed the new Blizzard World map announced last year which features a Blizzard-themed amusement park will be coming “very soon” with “tons of great Easter eggs” as well as other “great new maps” to come in the future. He also discussed about a new Lunar New Year event, much like last year’s Year of the Rooster event, which…

January 2, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

The Raspberry Pi craze is a little over five years old, and it shows no sign of stopping. What began as a stripped-down, uber-cheap, credit-card sized PC meant to teach programming to children has morphed into a vehicle for innovation and ingenuity.You’ll find all kinds of wild Raspberry Pi projects online, from electric skateboards to endless remote-control devices and home automation hacks like magic mirrors. Many people also use the Raspberry Pi in more down-to-earth ways, such as a home theater PC, a retro gaming console, or a networked file server.To read this article in full, please click herePowered by WPeMatico

January 2, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Choosing the right virtual private network (VPN) service is no simple task. A VPN should keep your internet usage private and secure, but not every service handles your data in the same way. Just look at the critiques of notable computer security experts and online pundits to understand the challenge.(Want to know more about VPNs and what they can and can’t do? Skip down to our “What is a VPN?” section below.)To read this article in full, please click herePowered by WPeMatico

January 2, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Destiny 2 will be taken offline for several hours tomorrow for server maintenance in preparation for Hotfix 1.1.1.2. As detailed on Bungie’s official website, server maintenance is scheduled to begin on January 3 at 7am PT/10am ET/3pm UK (January 4 at 2am AET). Maintenance is expected to last five hours, ending at 12pm PT/3pm ET/8pm UK (January 4 at 7am AET). During this timeframe, players won’t be able to log in to Destiny 2. Details about Destiny 2’s next expansion, Gods of Mars, surfaced last week thanks to a PlayStation Store leak. According to the leak, the upcoming DLC is scheduled…