January 9, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

When choosing a wireless carrier, most Americans just go with AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile, or Verizon. But the reluctance to look beyond the big four, to an alternative carrier, could be costing you serious money.An array of lesser-known carriers in the U.S. use the same networks as the big companies yet offer heavy discounts on your monthly bill—with no contracts. These mobile virtual network operators (MVNOs) piggyback on the major carriers’ networks and provide almost identical service.Cheap cell phone plans: A cheat sheet Cut to the chase with the ultra-quick version of our top picks:Best MVNO for low use: Tello  Best…

January 9, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Seven games are hitting the PS4 and PlayStation Vita this week, including The Count Lucanor, Planetbase, and more. As listed by PS Blog, check out the gallery below for the seven PlayStation releases of the week, along with release dates and official descriptions: The Count Lucanor (Vita) Energy Invasion (PS4, Vita) Happy Drummer (PS4) Little Red Lie (PS4, Vita) Planetbase (PS4) Plox Neon (PS4) Sword of Fortress the Onomuzim (PS4) Continue reading…Powered by WPeMatico

January 9, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Anyone who has ever set up a router is probably familiar with Wireless Protected Access, or WPA encryption. Now the stage is set for WPA3, an improved Wi-Fi security protocol that brings improved security to network devices.At CES on Monday, the Wi-Fi Alliance announced WPA3, whose improvements will slowly roll out during 2018 in new devices. The Alliance also announced several improvements to the current, but aging WPA2 spec (in place since 2004), to secure it while WPA3-compliant devices move into the market.WPA’s chief improvements include individualized data encryption, so that hackers lurking on public Wi-Fi networks will find it more difficult…

January 9, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Join Max Scoville, Brian Altano, Andrew Goldfarb, and Alanah Pearce as they discuss all the PlayStation news they could dig up, such as new details on God of War, a Metal Gear Survive single-player trailer, the promise of tons of new PSVR games this year. Plus, some fun discussion about the games we’ve been playing. Continue reading…Powered by WPeMatico

January 9, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Nintendo recently announced that the Switch was the fastest-selling console in U.S. history, based on its first 10 months on the market. The announcement came just days after we learned the Switch had also become the fastest-selling console ever in Japan. That’s good news for Nintendo, but what does it really mean? Does it mean the Nintendo Switch will become the best-selling console this generation, eclipsing the Xbox One and PlayStation 4? We dug into the data to put Nintendo’s new record in context. Continue reading…Powered by WPeMatico

January 9, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Microsoft and Rare have announced the dates for Sea of Thieves’ upcoming closed beta. As detailed on a recent blog post, the beta will run for five days from January 24 at 4 a.m. PT/7 a.m. ET/12 p.m. UK/10 p.m. AEST to January 29 at 12 a.m. PT/3 a.m. ET/8 a.m. UK/6 p.m. AEST. Players who signed up for the Sea of Thieves Insider Programme before December 1, 2017 as well as those who preordered the game will have automatic access to the beta. Rare promises the closed beta will be “a true taste of what Sea of Thieves has to…

January 9, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

UFC 3 is releasing soon – on February 2, or January 25 for EA Access subscribers – but for those looking to get a taste of the game’s new career mode, here are five things you need to know. Fighters in UFC 3’s career mode actually begin in the World Fighting Alliance. It’s here that you have your first few career fights, which are important because it’s these first few fights that decide the quality of your very first UFC contract. Do well, and you’ll be fast tracked into the UFC. Do not so well, and you’ll find yourself either…

January 9, 2018 CuttingEdgeTech

Blizzard has released a companion app for the upcoming Overwatch League competition. The Overwatch League, which starts tomorrow January 10, is the worlds first global eSports league with city-based teams. The grand prize for the winner is a healthy $1 million, with each player taking home a minimum $50,000 salary. The Overwatch League app provides fans with constantly updated scores and standings across the entire competition, which will run until June 16, 2018. Fans who own an iOS or Android device can keep up with the action by downloading the free companion app from the App Store or Google Play…